in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

9-19-02 // 3.56 pm

when I worked the good old pubs in Stepney

NP: Elton John - "Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboy"

Work is officially driving me crazy. Arrived at the office this morning to an inbox full of emails about some bug in a procedure I've been working on. Well, they found one bug but also praised me for making really good decisions elsewhere in my coding. Anyway, yeah, today I've been on a bug hunt. And not the fun kind, either, involving beetles and daddy longlegs and such. So after being interrupted by yet another meeting with a visiting dignitary, I was able to get some work done. But there's so much more to do. But you know what? I don't care. I'm getting out of here on time for once. I've always said I refuse to let my job run my life. I mean, yeah, sometimes you do have to stay late and do what your manager wants. But sometimes you just have to say "no, I'll fix it in the morning".

Tonight I'm leaving on time, I'm heading home, and Erin and I are going out to dinner at a nice Japanese restaurant. I love going out on dates with her...I mean since we've moved in together we don't go out like that as much as we used to. But in any case, we're doing it tonight, and it's going to be brilliant. She's brilliant.

It's been raining off and on today, frequently with big downpours. It's been mostly gray, with those low fog-like clouds that hover so close to the ground, swirling around with the wind. There's supposed to be more rain and maybe even some storms tonight. Rock on.

Alright, I'm outta here.

then / now