in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

9-23-04 // 10.34 am

lookin' at the working week through the eyes of a gigolo

NP: iPod on random play.

Before 9.11.01, an American flag on display filled me with a warm sense of appreciation. It felt both quaint and wonderful that people were truly proud of this country, despite our faults. I never felt the need to fly a flag, but I understood why other people did. These days, a flying flag turns my stomach, it seems to stand for something else entirely. Minature stars & stripes attached to an SUV. Flags printed on cardboard in the front windows of suburban houses. "These colors don't run" bumper stickers. It truly turns my stomach. It used to be patriotism, now it's nationalism.

A few minutes ago I spilled a soda all over my desk.

Allergies continue to kill me. I've been sniffling, sneezing, coughing and bothered by watery eyes for at least a week at this point. I feel like crap despite the fact that I've been getting a decent amount of sleep the past few nights.

I really want a chocolate chip cookie this morning but I am exercising self control. So I have settled for another Diet Coke. Hopefully I don't spill this one on everything as well.

Yesterday I discovered an error on my "Simpsons page-a-day" calendar. The question was: "In 'Homer Badman' (2F06), Prof. Frink displays a sour ball so sour, it can what?" The answer given was "b. Turn your face inside out". Which is technically true, as it does this to Homer when he swipes it and eats it. That said, choice (c) "Only be safely contained in a magnetic field" is also correct, as this is how Frink describes/displays the sour ball at the candy expo. Homer steals it immediately after. OK...sorry for that display.

It is my goal to do as little work as possible over the next two days.

Last night I watched "Back To The Future II" while I ate that NY style pizza. Both were very good, and I've always felt that BTTF II was one of the few sequels that was actually just as good as the original. "Make like a tree...and get out".

I miss Erin a lot today, it would be a good sort of morning to have been able to spend in bed with her.

Spam subject line du jour: "Mavis asked me to call you".

this entry's soundtrack:
[
Belle & Sebastian - Seeing Other People
Deacon Blue - All Over The World
The Divine Comedy - Songs Of Love
Blur - You're So Great
Matthew Good - It's Been Awhile Since I Was Your Man
Ben Folds - Philosophy (live)
]

then / now