in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

9-22-04 // 6.33 pm

your buzz beginning to wane

NP: R.E.M. - "Around The Sun"

Yeah, I know, it's not out till next month but they're streaming the whole thing at Myspace so I couldn't resist.

Today started out strangely. A car alarm went off at 6am and didn't stop for like 10 minutes. Then half an hour later Cat Prime hopped up on me and meowed at me till I got up and fed him. I then witnessed Cat Beta puking all over the carpet in the spare bedroom. I cleaned it up & it was gross. Then, having done that, I noticed a white powder all over the carpet near the kitchen. I also noticed the bottle of Erin's antibiotic pills open and spilled all over the carpet near the dining table. Many of them had chew marks on them. I put two & two together -- throwing up plus chewed up pills. The cat must've jumped up on the table, somehow gotten the bottle open, and then tried to eat them. I freaked out, calling the animal hospital in Webster only for them to tell me that "it's people medicine and we don't know anything about that". So I called the poison control hotline only for them to tell me that they don't really know how it would affect an animal. The lady was nice, though, and told me that in humans at least they don't worry about overdoses of antibiotics unless the person has a kidney disorder. She said that unless the cat kept getting worse, she'd likely be fine. So I was wary but trusted her since she knew more than I did. Thankfully she was right and everything seems fine, but I was worried. It was just a weird, crappy way to start Wednesday.

Work was fine, I spent the entire day plowing through boring paperwork and sitting through useless meetings. I was happy to leave.

Now I have to go pick up pizza from Raccanelli's. I'm sure they'll yell at me or at least be really surly. New York style, authentic New York attitude. Apparently.

then / now