in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

10-10-03 // 3.50 pm

see 'em drop like flies from the bright sunny skies

NP: Ben Folds - "Ben Folds Live"

Bugs. I saw six or seven distinct varieties of bugs while I was out on the front patio thing here at work a while ago. Black beetle, ant, grasshopper, cricket, fuzzy caterpillar (the best!), and ladybug (it flew over and landed on my belly). Oh, and I've been seeing loads of monarch butterflies on my lunchtime walks. Gotta love the insect world.

I had my 'midcycle review' today, which is basically this: you defend your job by listing your skills and accoplishments against a variety of "business areas", and then a week or two later you sit down with your manager and go over everything. It's the 'midterm' assessment before the big performance review that will come months down the line. In any case, I was super nervous about this one (I always am), but it ended up going wonderfully. No complaints at all, really, which is always a relief.

I'm out of here for the weekend in about 45 minutes or less. Beer, pizza, video games and whatnot tonight, I think. Ryan H and Grandaddy/Elbow on Saturday, and a day of extreme leisure on Sunday. Oh yeah.

then / now