in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

10-11-03 // 11.14 am

so you think you can hold the world up by a string

NP: Howie Day - "Stop All The World Now"

Ryan H left a message on my voice mail yesterday afternoon saying that he wouldn't be able to come up for the Grandaddy/Elbow show. Apparently his grad school courseload is kicking his ass at the moment and he needs the weekend to clear some of it out of the way. Hrm. He said he might be up next weekend instead, but who knows if that'll actually happen. I mean, I know he has a lot going on right now, what with school and planning the wedding, but still.

So yeah, I was disappointed, and it put me in a bad mood last night. It's a childish thing to let annoy you, but damn, I was really looking forward to seeing him. Aside from Ryan S, all of my close friends are not local. They're spread out, some even farther than others. So when I do get to see 'em it's a big deal. But anyway, enough being a whiny bastard. Erin and I are going to go to the gig tonight and have a blast, and I'm going to be in a great mood. Speaking of which, I need to apologize to Erin once she wakes up, say I'm sorry for being sullen last night.

I actually do read the articles in Playboy. Am I the first person who says that to actually mean it? I mean, I look at the naked women too, but they're airbrushed and boring. The majority of the rest of the mag is crap like "sophisticated, dirty party jokes" that are neither funny nor sophisticated, as well as erotic cartoons that were probably funny in 1950 and hyper-macho "man" nonsense that may as well be in FHM or Maxim. To be fair, they do have good word-type stuff in there sometimes. This month there's a great interview with Bill Murray, as well as a big article about Bentonville, Arkansas & the process of Wal-Mart taking over the world. You know, I'm not even sure why I get Playboy. I think at one point last year I got some junk mail subscription offer and Erin said we should sign up, it was only like 8 bucks for a year. I don't think I'll be renewing when this one runs out, though.

I'm not sure how it is elsewhere along the Mississippi River, but if you've ever lived anywhere in Missouri along the Mississippi, you'll be familiar with the wonderful weather condition known as 'cold and humid'. It's the absolute worst -- the temperatures are cool, like in the 50s or 60s, but the humidity is sky high, so the end result is a constant feeling of dampness. Ugh. It's bad enough here in St. Louis, but it was even worse in Cape, where I lived close enough to the river to have a panoramic view of it from my apartment's balcony.

Alright, time for more dark coffee and hoping that the people screeching and yelling out in the courtyard soon cease.

then / now