in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

10-22-03 // 1.21 pm

are you waiting for the heavens to descend?

NP: James - "Seven"

There's a shower at my work. That's right, in one of the men's bathrooms there is a functioning shower, complete with an antechamber for towelling off/changing clothes. It's always worried me a bit. I mean, what is the message the company is trying to send? Is it "we respect the fact that you have a life outside of work, and if you want to jog on your lunch hour or need to meet someone for dinner right after work, we've got you covered"? Or is it the more nefarious "see, we've provided food and a shower, and I'm sure you could sleep under your desk or leaned back in your chair, so now you have no reason not to work constant 13 hour days"? Either way, it's creepy.

I have a bottle of those "once daily" multivitamins at my desk at work. I almost never remember to take them, but for some reason today I did. I now remember why I normally don't. These things make my stomach very unhappy. I'm talking spasms, cramps, whatever. I even made sure to take them after lunch, so that I had a full stomach. But nope, about 10 minutes after taking the pill, my midsection was in revolt, and I felt well nauseous. Not good. It's since calmed down, but I'm eyeing that bastard bottle of vitamins like you wouldn't believe.

The traffic thing from yesterday, the thing with the endless orange barrels...that happened again today. Plus, at one point the guy in front of me started swerving around for no reason and then slammed on his brakes, causing me to also hit the brakes and nearly start sliding around on the highway. I'm normally rather social and tolerant, but people like that need to be relocated to their own idiot colony that they can ruin all they like, and leave the rest of us alone in the process.

There's nothing to do at work. I even specifically asked if there was something I could help out on, but still nada. I mean, on one hand it's easy going, but on the other hand the day is taking forever to go by, and I'm feeling incredibly bored and restless. It's so bad that I'm actually looking forward to getting out of here hours from now and going shopping for a new pair of dress shoes. Christ.

I don't have anything else to say. I feel like that a lot lately, actually.

then / now