in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

10-24-04 // 10.30 am

pac-man fever lunchbox

I'm jonesing to make a really messed up mix CD that anyone in the universe besides myself who listened to it would absolutely hate. I'm thinking it would include, but not be limited to:

-- Weird Al Yankovic - 'eBay' (a parody of the Backstreet Boys' 'I Want It That Way')
-- a track from R.E.M.'s less popular to everyone but myself later years
-- Damien Rice being sensitive and pretentious and bombastic but also good
-- The Avalanches - 'Since I Left You'
-- a cover of Legiao Urbana's 'Tempo Perdido' from some MPB compilation
-- Carole King - 'Way Over Yonder'
-- Ben Folds & William Shatner - 'In Love'
-- Interpol
-- a sixteen minute Spock's Beard song

The Cards/Sox game last night was a travesty. It was like watching slow-pitch softball out there. Apparently one of the columnists in the Post agrees with me, as he wrote the same thing. Here's hoping for a tighter game 2. I think Schilling is pitching for the Sox, I wonder if his ankle is going to be sewed up again all Frankenstyle? That was some seriously gross stuff last time around.

I woke up this morning after about eight hours of sleep, and I was going to try that old chestnut where you just lay in bed for an hour or so after waking up, maybe kind of dozing off a bit but really just lounging. I did it for a while and it was excellent, although I also rolled around and shifted quite a bit, so I eventually got up so as to not wake Erin up.

The cat just jumped up next to me and laid down on top of the phone. As he settled, he pressed random buttons with his belly. It was pretty cool.

I'm going to go for a very long walk later. The only challenge will be to get off the couch, as it's very comfortable.

then / now