in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

10-25-02 // 9.33 am

you can disappear altogether

NP: Matt Good Band - "The Audio of Being"

Apologies for the rash of Matt Good stuff, but the new single prompted me to listen to all of his albums, which is something I haven't done for some months.

This morning my drive to work was slow. It was the usual rush hour traffic, but combined with the fact that it was absolutely pissing down rain. The funniest part is that since I was driving east (also the direction the rain was moving), I basically never got out of the rain. It was like being followed around by a gigantic gray cloud.

It was one of those mornings where you should be allowed, by law, to just stay in bed. But a big cup of (admittedly dodgy) gas station coffee, and a Smiths mix minidisc helped prep me for facing the world. As far as I can tell, it's tough to feel bad about anything after singing along to Panic.

Thing #268 that I am thankful for: I live in a hurricane-free zone.

At work, I'm currently coveting this spare Sun workstation. It's just sitting in a spare cube, and is for the taking. I talked to the IT guys and it looks like they'll let me have it...though it does need some reconfiguring, so that'd have to be done before I could move it into my cube. But yeah, that would rock. I know it seems superfluous to have two computers in a cubicle, but let me tell you...a dedicated UNIX box would rule. I currently have to do all of my development on an NT box, running a program which simulates the Sun environment. Which is just as slow as it sounds. So yeah... Geek-out now over, I promise.

In high school, I was friends with a guy who would go absolutely apeshit at even the mention of the Violent Femmes. To this day, I never did figure out exactly why that is. But it was like this pathological, instinctual reaction to even the name. I think, going from context clues I gathered over the years, it all had something to do with a girl, but like I said, he refused to go into any sort of details.

Today, my goal is to get through the day unnoticed. If I can make it to, say, 4.30 this afternoon without being made to research a slow running query, or help a tester understand what I've fixed so he knows how to test it, or write boring documentation, or sit through a meeting to review some 100 page document...it will be a good day.

then / now