in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

10-28-02 // 9.11 am

it's a luscious mix of words and tricks

NP: The Shins - "Oh, Inverted World"

Right now I'm squarely in the middle of tired and wired. Had a big thermal mug-type vessel of strong (i.e. made by me) coffee, yet I'm still dealing with a weekend where I didn't really sleep that well. Yeah...I'm fairly confident I could lie down here underneath my desk and take a nap right now.

Sometime I would like to take a day and explore the city...just have a good wander around. I mean, I know the city, I live there after all...but it'd be nice to hop on the metro, ride it around, and hike around on foot. Maybe go downtown during the day, walk around the business district, gaze up at the skyscrapers and marvel at how they block out the sun and cast those incredibly deep shadows. Head out to Forest Park and take a long walk there, maybe see if there's anything new at the art museum. I dunno, this all just occurred to me this morning while driving in to work...the downtown towers were swallowed up by misty clouds, and the gray of the morning light made the old buildings and churches look even more stark and urban than usual.

The only positive aspect of Monday morning is the fact that until the status meeting at 11 o'clock, it's usually very easy to just sort of hide out, do a little bit of work, and generally get used to being at your desk again. I appreciate that...I need it, you know? Otherwise, it might be too much of a shock to the system.

There's a scene in "Rushmore"...it starts out as a clean break from the previous scene, you know, short, quick cut to black, then an equally short, quick cut back to action. It's Jason Schwartzman and Bill Murray doing things after their reconcilliation...riding bikes, running around, and I think even one little shot where they're running around Murray's factory lifting pipes up and down. The scene is key to the film, as it's the resolution of the two male leads' in-fighting, and where Schwartzman decides to step aside and help his friend (Murray) win the girl they'd both been in love with. The whole thing is set to Oh Yoko!, which if you know the song, begins in as a sudden and sharp way as the scene does. In its own very weird way, the whole package is more or less perfect in the way that it conveys a feeling of devotion, determination, and love.

I miss Erin. I miss her a lot.

Yeah, that nap sounds really good about now.

then / now