in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-5-03 // 4.12 pm

peace the fuck out

NP: Travis - "12 Memories"

Belle & Sebastian gig tonight! First row balcony, to boot. Sadly, it's yet another good show at the middling Pageant. If I wanted a venue that looks and feels like a multiplex, I would've asked for one. In the meantime, the poor, forgotten, gorgeous, and far superior American Theater sits mostly unused downtown. I mean, they open the place up like twice a year anymore. I don't even know why it's not utilized more, really. It's even a block away from a Metro station, so it's easy to get to. Oh well, whatever, as long as there are still shows.

My morning was busy and now my afternoon is slow. This has been the theme of the past week or so. Do a load of work and then spend hours waiting for a database reload or whatnot.

I'm trying to rationalize the fact that I will mostly likely spend far too much money at Best Buy come Friday's payday. But come on, there are loads of new releases this week: Peter Gabriel compilation (with 2 unreleased songs -- the only reason to buy it as I own everything else already) and DVD of his latest tour, new Coldplay live CD/DVD set, two new Ryan Adams discs, the new Shins record, and erm, the new Sarah McLachlan album. I'd also like to finally pick up the Mr. Show Seasons 1-3 DVD sets I've been after for ages. But I won't likely be able to convince myself that it's OK to spend that much dough in one go.

I'm growing my sideburns out again. Not to the ridiculous lengths of some years ago, but they're making their return anyway. I think that sideburns are one of those things that men think are super cool but that women totally hate. I'm not sure if Erin just hasn't noticed mine yet or if she's purposefully not mentioning it, but I'm sure before long I'll be getting repeated "you're so scratchy, shave those off!" And I will, but not before I grow them back for a bit. Since I won't subject her to the goatee or (even worse) full beard, she'll have to at least give me this. I hope.

Under an hour till I can get out of here for the day. Though, to be honest, it's bitterly cold outside (well, 40F, which isn't bad but it's very cold in comparison to recent weather) and it's actually pretty toasty here in my cube.

then / now