in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-12-02 // 9.56 am

coffee is cold, but it'll get you through

NP: U2 - "The Best of 1990-2000"

One thing, the UK version of this has an extra track, The Fly. Which I suppose isn't a big deal, I can just listen to "Achtung Baby" if I want to hear that track. But still, it's a bit ridiculous to get screwed out of an extra song. Also, does anyone else think it's funny that the compilation features two songs from 2002, which is out of the date range of the "best of"? Great new tunes, though. All in all, a solid compliation, albeit with (at least in my opinion) some dubious exclusions (If God Will Send His Angels, Walk On, Who's Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses, Lemon, etc). I realize it's only a single disc, but still. Plus, the new mixes of the songs from "Pop" really add punch to the material..."Pop" has always been an album I didn't quite get on with. Anyway, I digress. The b-sides disc here is rather good, although it seems to have left a handful of b-sides off (Satellite of Love, Where Did It All Go Wrong, If You Wear That Velvet Dress, The Ground Beneath Her Feet, Always) in favor of a bunch of remixes. But whatever, eh? Still worth the price of admission.

Have you ever noticed that one line in Gone -- 'what you leave behind you don't miss anyway'. From "Pop" they seem to have gone from a declaration that you won't miss what you leave behind, to the many lines in "All That You Can't Leave Behind" (e.g. 'what you don't have you don't need it now', 'all this you can leave behind', 'the only baggage that you can't bring is all that you can't leave behind'') that seem to suggest that you will miss what you leave behind, you just have to get past that fact and move on. There's also the suggestion that there are some things, both good and bad, that you can't ever truly leave behind you.

Erg, don't mind me today, I'm just in that mode. You know, that "hack music reviewer" type mode. Sometimes I just like to analyze and write about the music that moves me.

This morning is gray and rather chilly. I suppose it's really not that cold, but compared to the warmth of the weekend, it seems colder. I had a cup of coffee (excellent Swedish dark roast I procured at IKEA. Man, that sounds pretentious, but hey...), but it didn't quite do enough to erode the general feeling of coldness brought about by the low clouds, the wind, and the early hour.

One of my coworkers has been getting computer equipment delivered to work for the past few weeks. This is a lot of hardware we're talking about...a huge monitor, like three cases, a couple of hard drives, and a handful of other nondescript, fairly large "mystery boxes". I just asked him exactly what is going on, and he said he's building one computer from scratch, and upgrading two others. Yeah...

This is the space in this entry where I want to write about whatever it is I meant to write about when I thought it up this morning. But of course, I've forgotten. Oh well.

Blargh. I have work to do today, and it's really nothing difficult, even...I just don't feel like doing it. I feel like being home, under the blankets with Erin, still asleep. I feel like drinking coffee in my pajamas, reading, listening to music, talking and looking out the window.

then / now