in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-18-02 // 10.04 am

early morning sun, shine it and I'm gone

NP: David Gray - "A New Day at Midnight"

Ugh, it's Monday morning. And it feels like a Monday morning, too. I'm tired and very sluggish. I would absolutely love to go back to bed right now. But I can't, because I am sitting at my desk at work. On top of it all, my stomach has been having words with me all morning. I'm not sure what the deal is...maybe it's that gyro I ate for dinner last night. Eh. Either way, it keeps feeling slightly better as time goes on, so yeah.

This weekend was a good one, but it was also one of those that seems over almost as soon as it begins, you know? I would kill for one more day to chill out.

I find it funny that nobody, I mean nobody is interested in the mixes I post over at Art of the Mix. Comments are non-existent. Either my tastes aren't indie enough for the regulars, or perhaps my tastes are too weird and insular to prompt comments. In any case, I think it's funny. I'm still going to keep posting 'em, though.

If you ask me (which you didn't), Sunday night is the best time of the week to go shopping. I mean, you don't get that feeling of bustling activity that you get on a winter's Saturday afternoon, but Sunday nights are great because everything is deserted. Went to Borders last night around 8 o'clock, and it was dead. It was brilliant, there were hardly any families with screaming kids, or students sitting around reading/studying, blocking walkways and such. Someone did set off an emergency exit alarm, but otherwise, it was peaceful. Oh, and Shop n Save (local grocery store chain) was deserted around 10 o'clock or so. Alternating rows of flourescent lights had been turned off, the floors had been freshly cleaned (they were still shiny), and the loudest thing was U2 playing on the in-store intercom radio. Brilliant.

I'd really like to go to the Botanical Gardens at some point, I haven't been in a couple of years at this point. I realize that it's almost winter now, and that it's cold, and that there's really no use looking at plants when it's freezing outside and nothing is blooming, but I would like to get back there again, maybe in the spring. Just seems silly to not take advantage of things like that, especially when you live in the city, and when you live so close (I can see the entrance from the interstate every day when I drive to work, it's only a few miles from the apartment). Oh, the Art Museum, too. Forest Park is mostly a spring/summer activity for us, but for me, the Art Museum is an excellent winter Saturday afternoon activity. You know, head over there at like 1 or 2 o'clock in the afternoon, explore for a few hours, then retreat to a cafe or home or something for hot beverages.

Useless "weekly status meeting" coming up in an hour or so...great. Last week we got roped in for an extra half hour because we had to listen to some feckless "sexual harassment" training. It was presented via Powerpoint presentation...come on, that's lame. It's like in college...how many times did you have classes where students giving presentations (and even professors sometimes!) would just slap any old crap on a Powerpoint and run through it in a monotone, expecting it to fool the audience into thinking what they were witnessing was actually useful. I feel that way at work sometimes....Powerpoint in place of anything useful.

Ooh, just remembered, the Rams are on Monday Night Football. That'll be nice, but I still have to make it through another 6 hours and change of work. Hrm. Can't wait to get the hell out of here. I miss Erin and want to go back home to her. Stupid bloody Monday.

then / now