in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-18-03 // 11.48 am

and what if there were two, side by side in orbit

NP: R.E.M. - "Automatic For The People"

I am trying to drown out the braying of my coworkers with the sound of Michael Stipe singing Nightswimming. It's mostly working.

Meanwhile, I type away at this requirements/design document for my project. It's boring but steady, and it pretty much means I won't be bothered for the rest of the day. I like that.

It rained all last night. Torrential downpours, mostly. My favorite kind of fall night, I just sat on the couch with Erin, a book, and a cup of tea. Very nice. It was still fairly nasty out when I was getting ready for work this morning. In fact, I sat in my bathrobe at the desk in the study, and was this close to calling in to work and burning a personal day or something, just because it seemed like the perfect kind of day to spend sitting around drinking a hot beverage messing around on the computer and reading. But my conscience kicked in, telling me that I'm already authorized for a nice amount of time off around Thanksgiving, Christmas and the New Year, so I shouldn't take off now.

Ryan S is coming by after work for some general geekery, pizza and what have you. We almost always tend to do this sort of thing on a Tuesday night, and as much as I try not to get stuck in routines, it's just the one night of the week that we're both usually guaranteed to be free.

I'm making satisfying progress on that program. I did a bit of work last night, and again this morning before getting dressed. I finally solved my 'generating distinct random numbers within a given range' issue, which was the one major hangup I had left. All that's left now are a few minor syntax type things, I think. So yes.

My extended family has decided to hold Thanksgiving festivities in this horrible church center again. It truly boggles my mind, as each individual member of the family has a perfectly nice, acceptable home for serving dinner and entertaining. I realize that nobody wants their home to be made a mess of, but come on, my grandparents have six kids, and between them and the various grandchildren, we could make quick work of any dishes and kitchen mess. But no, various aunts and uncles have decided to have dinner in this Stalinesque church multipurpose center. Seriously, it's like eating Thanksgiving dinner in a prison cafeteria. I know I should be thankful that I'm just able to enjoy a large meal with my whole family, but it's so uncomfortable and silly. I even offered to have everyone over to my relatively small apartment, but nope. Fucking church center. But oh well, I think the point may be moot anyway, as I'm pretty sure we're actually going to be having dinner with Erin's family, and then going over to my aunt's house later in the evening for dessert and visiting and what have you.

Now it's time for a quick lunchtime walk and then it's back to work tapping out technical documentation.

"Me my thoughts are flower strewn..."

then / now