in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-20-03 // 8.08 pm

some thoughts just won't leave my head

NP: Teenage Fanclub - "Songs From Northern Britain"

You really have to love a record that sounds like the latter-period Byrds playing power pop.

Today was pure Indian summer. 75 degrees, light west wind, and deep blue skies with wispy cirrus clouds strewn about. Of course, I was trapped at work, inside with no windows to boot. Criminal, especially since it's supposed to snow on Monday.

I picked up that new 'cleaned up' version of "Let It Be". It's...interesting. It's jarring to hear the songs in a different order, for one thing. As far as I'm concerned it should start out with Two Of Us, not Get Back. And there are different takes of some of the songs here -- Get Back doesn't have the coda I'm used to, there's a different guitar solo in the title track, I've Got A Feeling sounds like a totally different take, just from the vocal inflections, and of course all of the jokiness and rough edges have been mixed out. The addition of Don't Let Me Down is most welcome, however. I mean, The Long And Winding Road sounds gorgeous without the Spector crap tacked on, and the tape hiss removal makes the thing sound like it was recorded yesterday, not 30+ years ago. But I'm not buying the claim that this was "Let It Be the way it was intended". Nope. In fact, this is the other extreme, a totally cleaned up, 'proper' album, not the roughshod document the band originally wanted. Plus, the whole thing has McCartney's fingerprints all over, kind of like this is his revision of the sessions' history. In any case, it's a good listen, and I'm going to try to track down a bootleg of the Glyn Johns compiled, non-Spectorized version that was almost released in the first place. That should put everything in perspective, and I imagine it'll be the version that makes the most sense to me as what "Get Back" should've been. But we shall see.

A few hours ago there was a guy parked out in the courtyard blaring In Da Club at super maxium volume. Then he switched to Eminem. Then the entire sound system just shut off, leaving an eerie silence.

I now have a completed version of that program I'm doing for Ryan H. There are still a few more tweaks I need to hash out, but for the most part I'm done. It actually works rather well, which makes me happy.

Erin will be home here in an hour or so, at which point we're going to head to Chris' for a bite to eat. I'm starving, and more importantly, I can't wait to see her.

then / now