in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-20-00 // 12.04 am

private universe

NP: Crowded House - "Recurring Dream"

Right now, all that matters is Neil Finn, these perfect melodies. I feel the harmonies and flawless melodic lines resonating throughout my whole being. All music does this to me in one way or another, but some artists are able to distill it down to something more compact and powerful. This short progression of chords here says more to me than an entire book full of words can.

So I spent the day as I spend most Sundays. Doing coursework, buying groceries, talking to my parents on the phone, watching a bit of TV...getting that nagging feeling that I always have on Sundays. That vague sense of tension. Though I did take a walk in the early afternoon, that was wonderfully calming. My walks are my refuge from the pressures and worries of the day. While I'm out, I don't have to worry about anything but the sky above me, the music on the headphones and the thoughts running around in my head.

Love seems so impossible to find or achieve. I found it once, but even that didn't work out. I wonder how other people get so lucky as to turn chance meetings into something that lasts. Right now, all I have are my dreams. Dreams of warmth and security and a happiness deep in my heart. Sometimes I wonder why I'm constantly denied the opportunity to share all of the love I have to give.

then / now