in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-20-02 // 10.20 am

I'm glad you're on my side

NP: Tori Amos - "Scarlet's Walk"

This is normally the place where I would blather on endlessly about whatever I happen to be listening to. To help combat that phenomenon, and to spare the eyes and brains of those who could care less, I have started up a reviews diary. I'm calling it "Recordings", which isn't clever but it does what it says on the tin. So yeah, if you feel like reading my reviews of, well, recordings (that's albums, singles, EPs, random songs, and even live shows, despite the fact that those are clearly not recordings), head on over. It'll be my goal to post a review a day, though of course that may fluctuate depending on how much crap I have to do each day. OK, lame plug over. On to the entry.

Erin has an interview with a placement agency today. She's escaping from retail hell (a good move, which you know is true if you've ever worked retail), which rocks. She has to go downtown this afternoon, I hope she can find a place to park.

Since she has the interview today, last night we went shopping for something new to wear. After hitting Famous-Barr, we wandered the rest of the mall it's attached to. That's when we passed the Apple Store (which itself is decked out in enough bright, white light, bleached hardwood, and cornerless, quasi-futuristic furniture for several remakes of "2001"). Long-ish story short, we are now the proud owners of a brand new iBook (we got the "middle" one with the 800 MHz processor) and 5GB iPod. Oh yeah. And it's not like this was purely an impulse type thing, either...I'd been looking into it via the webiste for some time, and then maybe ordering it for Christmas for the both of us. But I figured last night why not go for it right now, as they have a very generous financing offer going on right now. So, yes. Rock on.

I don't feel nearly as tired right now as I did yesterday morning. Got a pretty good night's sleep last night, and I'd wager that another one tonight should get me back to 100%. Not that I would say no to a nap right now, mind you.

Today is one of those days where I don't feel particularly motivated to work. I blame that on the fairly relaxed schedule I'm currently operating on. I mean, I've been doing work, and things have been getting done, but it's being done at far from a torrid pace. Eh, oh well.

then / now