in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-20-04 // 1.40 pm

the magic roundabout

NP: IQ - "The Wake"

I'd have to include this on any list of my favorite albums from the '80s. It always cracks me up to read the liner notes, I dig how instead of just saying that the keyboard player played keyboards, they list all of 'em. Emulator II, DX7, Oberheim Expander, Memory Moog, CS 80, Arp Odyssey, Roland VK1, Mellotron, Logan String Synth. He also played the flute, I guess on Headlong. Also, I think they borrowed the sitar guitar used on Corners from Dave Stewart from the Eurythmics. That's weird and interesting. I love these guys -- weird, idiosyncratic British prog rock from the '80s, but with quality songs, a sense of humor and a bit of pop sensibility. Oh, and all the band members had crazy new wave hairdos at the time and the singer did all of the cover & liner artwork himself. The stipple dot pieces are pretty good, actually -- I like the one that looks like Bat Boy from Weekly World News.

Bright and early this morning I had the interview for my higher level security clearance. Months ago I applied for a transfer within my company to a different location downtown here in St. Louis. If I get it, it would mean less commuting, more job security, etc. As part of it, I had to apply for a higher level clearance than I currently hold. So after filling out a massive stack of paperwork last month, I got a call yesterday informing me it was time for my face-to-face interview. So a Dept. of Defense investigator guy came to the apartment this morning, they talked with Erin for 10 minutes and then me for a little over an hour. He was really nice, and the interview was mostly just going over the same stuff that was on the paperwork. I'm glad to have it over with, actually, I was pretty nervous last night for some reason. I'm happy it turned out to be not a big deal.

Afterwards, Erin and I grabbed John and went for a late breakfast at Tiffany's. I love that place, feels like we haven't gone in a million years. I had a veggie omelet and two cups of really good coffee. The guy working the counter told us about how in his youth he was a CIA trained sniper. We played some songs on the jukebox (11 tunes for a dollar, you can't beat that) -- mine were Floyd 'Run Like Hell', CCR 'Lodi', Elton John 'Razor Face', Johnny Cash 'It Ain't Me Babe', Paul Simon 'Kodachrome' and Don McLean 'Vincent'. All nice and scratchy and coming out of a single speaker, I think. Good times.

Now I'm off to Borders to take advantage of a 25% off coupon and then I'm going to take a very long walk. Later gators.

then / now