in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-26-04 // 3.45 pm

they call me a boring fuckhead

NP: Manics - "Lipstick Traces"

I was listening to "Generation Terrorists" this morning on a walk around the neighborhood and I had to dig this out to get at some of the tasty b-sides from the same era. It's a nice collection to have -- I mean, I have every single from "Everything Must Go" and forward, but it does help to fill in the holes with the early singles' b-sides. Although it's so frustrating -- it's a double CD, but instead of using both discs for b-sides, one disc is covers. Granted, they were b-sides as well, but surely original compositions should take precedence over covers. Oh well.

No more turkey for months, I'm officially turkeyed out. Ate dinner part one at Erin's grandparents' house yesterday around 3 o'clock, and then had dinner part deux at my aunt's house around 5.30 or 6. Turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, gravy, veggies, pie, coffee, etc. It was gluttonous, plain and simple, but oh so good. We went back to Erin's family's earlier this afternoon for a leftover lunch. It was great, but it officially put the nail in the turkey coffin. I think I actually fell asleep on their couch for a half hour. SEC football will do that to me.

I don't plan on doing much of anything the rest of today. I traditionally spend the day after Thanksgiving trying my hardest to not leave the house. Certainly not going anywhere likely to contain masses of people out bargain hunting.

I can sense the Christmas season beginning. The older I get, the more the whole season just gets on my nerves. I like giving presents and I like getting together with family and friends, but I can't stand the way the entire world seems to be shoving carols and "consume at all costs!" down your throat. For every beautiful display of Christmas lights comes the feeling that a month long obligation has just descended upon you. I dunno, I suppose I just need to lighten up.

then / now