in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-28-04 // 6.35 pm

kick out the cowboys

Baltimore and New England are playing football in a downpour. The entire middle of the field, about 75% of the space between the hash marks from end zone to end zone is a gigantic mud pit. It's the sort of thing I love to watch on TV but would hate to have to sit through if I was in the crowd. I like how NFL games are never called due to weather, save for lightning or hurricanes.

Not much doing this weekend. I ran some errands yesterday afternoon, then came home to tackle the mountain of chores that needed doing. I also got the Christmas tree out and put that up, that way I miss out on the fighting with Erin that usually comes out of that (this fake tree we have can be kind of maddening to sort out and assemble). Got the ornaments and lights out too, but waited for Erin to put those up. That's the good part, there's no assembly required. I think anything requiring putting things together is a bad mix for us, best exemplified by the infamous IKEA computer desk.

Slept in a little bit this morning, then did laundry and saw Erin off to work. I dunno, after all this time I'm used to her having to work all weekend, but I still wish she had at least one of the two days off like she used to. So I showered, shaved & headed to the Loop to meet up with Steve. We didn't do much, just hit some shops & had a bit of lunch, drove around and talked. It's what we usually do, and I'm cool with that. It's good.

A new family moved into the previously vacant apartment upstairs from mine. This is the same apartment that earlier this year was home to the family with the constantly barking puppy. They must've been evicted or something though, the noise stopped & then one day I saw them moving out. So yeah, the new upstairs neighbors are loud. I mean, these apartments have like zero soundproofing in general, but these people transcend that. They're the kinds of people for whom normal talking volume is a shout. I think there may be one or more always-running-around kids. There have been a couple of times when someone up there has been absolutely blasting slow jam soul and gospel. Plus there's been a lot of general banging around and that weird "dropping bowling balls on the floor" noise. I realize they're moving in, and it's gotten better finally this evening, but still. It was so bad Friday night I had to go up there and ask them to keep it down. Keep in mind this was nearly 1 o'clock in the morning and they were still apparently moving furniture around and shouting. I also had to bang on the ceiling a while ago during the gospel fest. That quieted 'em down though, hopefully they're getting the idea that I'm going to complain if they're obnoxious.

It's been a long, curmudgeonly day, I suppose. Now I'm off to Target before they close to get a USB printer cable.

then / now