in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

12-5-02 // 10.29 am

the air outside so soft is saying everything

NP: a brand new mix CD.

So yesterday it decided to snow during morning rush hour. Of course, this being the first snow of the year, it threw 99% of everybody off. It's not like we're unaccustomed to snow in this city, it snows here all the time in the winter. But for some reason yesterday, drivers and road crews were complete fucking idiots. Took me an hour to get to work, and then another hour to get home in the evening. On the way to work I saw a couple of wrecks (not to mention the idiot who decided to tailgate me, and then speed past me at like 80mph), and coming home at night, it was even worse. One smashed up sports car, and two SUVs upside down in ditches. It was not a fun day. Though once I got home for good, it was nice to look out the windows and appreciate the way snow looks covering everything in my neighborhood. Not to mention the wonderful, reflective pink glow that the city gets when there's snow on the ground.

As of last night, the hot water in our building works again! Seriously, since sometime mid-Sunday, the hot water has not worked. The best I was able to get was about three minutes of lukewarm water a couple of days ago. Yesterday, I had to wash my hair by splashing ice cold water onto me, lathering, rising with the same splashing method, and then feeling like my body temperature was 20 degrees off all day. I hadn't had a shave since like Sunday or Monday either...I looked terribly scruffy. But this morning, I was able to take a steaming hot shower, and clean up properly. I was also able to shave. It felt really, really good.

They've put a Christmas tree up in my office. Which is cool, it's nice to see some color around here for a change. But the weird this is that they've just stuck the tree out in the middle of a hallway. Seriously, it just sits there, and it's kind of tough to get around. Why they chose to put it there instead of, say, in the lounge or near the front entrance is beyond me.

Much to Erin's disgust, I ate two very tasty stuffed green peppers for dinner last night. Haven't had one of those for far too long. Now all I need is some golabki to complete the winter feel.

Last night, Erin had a revelation as to the location of my lost Idlewild and James CDs. Sure enough, this morning she checked, and there they were! Rock on.

Today I am writing a test plan and taking care of other assorted tasks that I've been procrastinating on this week. On the plus side, my tech lead (who is, granted, already located in northern Virginia) is out of the office today, so that means no bothering on that front. In any case, now it's time to get back to work. Woo.

then / now