in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

12-9-04 // 6.09 pm

home in the valley, home in the city

NP: my old MP3 collection on the PC in the spare bedroom. Right now it's playing Albatross by Public Image Ltd.

Ugh, I just did the mountain of dishes in the kitchen and now I have cooking oil on my wrist.

Erin brought some latke batter home from Andy & Liz's dinner the other night and it has an utterly horrendous smell. I think it's only the batter that reeks, the pancakes themselves smell fine. But oh man, that batter stench just permeates everything. And this is coming from a guy who can barely smell anything in the first place.

So Erin is incredibly stressed out at the moment. Which I totally understand, it's the week before finals & this is traditionally the busiest time of the year at her job. She wasn't feeling that great this evening when I got home from work and she didn't want to get up to go to her night classes to take an exam. But I kind of prodded her to get dressed and get in the car, all the while reiterating that I know how stressed she is and that I know how hard she's working to juggle everything and what a great job I think she's doing. I dunno, I feel like that's too "parental" or bossy of me, but to me that's support. I know how important to her school is, I just want to be tha voice that says "I know you're stressed and beat and fed up, but you have to go. Soon it will be over & you can relax a bit." But that usually just leads to her saying something like "you just don't understand", or "you couldn't understand". What, because I'm never stressed out? Because I never went to school & worked at the same time? Granted, I worked fewer hours than she does, but I also carried more hours and classes at school than she does. And I pointed out that I didn't want to work this weekend and work 24 hours the first two days of this week. And she sort of insinuated that since I make X dollars per week and she only makes Y dollars per week, I shouldn't be allowed to be stressed or to complain or whatever. Uh huh. I dunno, I'm just trying to be as supportive as I can, and it often feels like it's not helping. I just hope she knows how proud of her I am that she's working this hard to get where she wants to be and how much I lov her. It's all I can do to be there for her, although I wish I could do more.

I don't really know what else I'm going to do tonight. I'll probably take a walk up to the grocery store to get something for dinner, but that's all I can think of. I might dig out a movie or something, who knows?

I'm really glad tomorrow is Friday. I'm tired. At least I'm finally catching up with the backlog of stuff that piled up earlier this week.

Soundtrack for the rest of this entry:

Iron Maiden - Sanctuary
Better Than Ezra - King Of New Orleans
McAlmont & Butler - "Falling"
Boomtown Rats - I Don't Like Mondays
Blue Oyster Cult - Burnin' For You
Built To Spill - Untrustable, Pt. 2

then / now