in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

12-20-02 // 10.05 am

take whatever you're needing, take whatever you can

NP: Toad the Wet Sprocket - "Dulcinea"

It's Friday. So glad that it's Friday. It's looking to be a fairly straightforward day at work. I have some work to do, and I've been doing it, but a lot of people aren't here, or are leaving early for their Christmas time off. I'm coming in Monday and Friday next week (didn't have enough time off left this year for the whole week), but I'm definitely looking forward to three days off and a mostly empty office when I am here.

It's chilly outside. Not as numbingly cold as it can be this time of the year, but it's very welcome considering earlier this week it was humid and uncomfortably warm for December. But yeah, on my drive in to work this morning, I was able to bask in the light of the sun for the first time in what felt like a week. Blue skies and the sun reflecting off of the myriad buildings and structures in the city. Brilliant.

Actually spending time sitting down and listening to the White Stripes doesn't change the fact that I still absolutely can't stand them. Oh well.

The guy in front of me at the gas station this morning bought a big cup of coffee and a bunch of lottery tickets. Did he get up at 7 o'clock in the morning just for that? I'm a big fan of the little gas station/quick stop in my neighborhood, though. It's a tiny place, you walk inside and the aisles are barely wide enough to get through. As much stuff as possible is crammed into this small space. There's one corner, over by this door that goes to somewhere I don't know where, are always a big stack of random boxes. At the checkout, there's this big display of "herbal supplements". You can buy stamps from one of those old-school non-electronic dispensers. There's also a black & white photograph of Elvis nailed to this post behind the counter. Oh, and my other favorite thing about this place? Its name. Out front, in big white letters: "PHIL MART". Rock on.

Oh, and by the way, you may want to pick up one of these for the unemployed philosophy / assorted liberal arts major on your Christmas list. Hell, who wouldn't want a beanie Oscar Wilde?

then / now