in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

12-24-02 // 10.53 am

it's so grey in london town

NP: The Clash - "The Clash"

The UK version. While the US version did include non album singles (White Man in Hammersmith Palais!), I tend to like to stick to albums in their original forms. I'm weird like that.

So it's Christmas Eve morning. I'm sitting here on the couch, snow started falling about twenty minutes ago. Some guy is blasting rap music out of his car in the parking lot below the window. A pot of coffee is brewing. I just got back from walking up to the post office and grocery store -- soon I'll venture back out to pick up some photos from Walgreen's.

The cat jumped up on the couch next to me, rooting around in the ripped up packaging from the stuff my friends in Baltimore sent me. Dubbed copy of a David Gilmour performance from 1984, as well as a really nice card. I also have a box of what I think are videos from fucking Columbia House. Note to everyone -- never join a video club. For one thing, you'll forget to buy your required number of tapes. I think they gave me like three or four years, and of course, I didn't remember. One day last month I got a bill for the equivalent of fives tapes. At least I was able to pick five actual movies for the price. Also, as was my case, halfway through your membership, the prevalent format will shift from VHS to DVD, making you buy a bunch of movies in an inferior format. But whatever. It's good to be rid of them, finally.

The snow's coming down even harder now. It's the kind with the big, fat flakes. The wind is swirling around, too, it's beautiful.

I hate to cut this short, but I have to get moving. Merry Christmas/Happy Hannukah/Kwanzaa/Eid ul-Fitr/pagan holiday/Festivus to everyone.

then / now