in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

12-25-02 // 10.12 am

toy like people may be bowie like

NP: Massive Attack - "Mezzanine"

There's this weird, mumbled lyric in Rising Son that me and Ryan H always thought sounded like "toy like people may be bowie like". We looked up the actual lyric once, but I never remember it. I like our version much better.

My throat hurts. It's all scratchy and sore. I opened wide and looked in the mirror, and my uvula is all swollen and red. Ugh. This sort of thing happens a few times every year. I'm sure in a day or so, I can look forward to the disappearance of the sore throat and the arrival of a completely stuffed-up nose. Who needs to breathe properly, anyway?

Remember that snow from yesterday? Well, it kept coming down. It snowed from like 10.30 in the morning to about 9 or 10 o'clock at night. The city went absolutely bonkers. We got on the interstate about 5.30 in the evening, and it looked like nobody had even touched the thing all day. I mean, cars were out there driving around, but plows were nowhere to be seen. Somehow we made it to my grandparents' house and back again. The roads were much better, last time I checked. Still, it was scary out there last night.

Christmas itself was brilliant. Had a wonderful time at my grandparents' -- visited with family, ate great food (read: stuffed myself with roast beef and desserts), and exchanged gifts. Came home around 11.30 and then Erin and had our own little Christmas. There was much gift exchanging and snuggling. Cats jumped around and played with wrapping paper and empty boxes. It was absolutely brilliant -- the best way to spend Christmas ever.

Today we have more relatives to visit, but that's more than OK. Christmas without family and driving around everywhere and lots of seeing people isn't much of a Christmas as far as I'm concerned.

And before I go, some Christmas Eve pictures.

Corona hanging out in the Christmas tree.

snow on the apartment building.

our cars buried under a day's worth of snow.

down the road.

a lone locomotive that rumbled by.  The driver blew his horn at me and waved.

then / now