in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

2-4-02 // 9.11 am

the young men are restless and the old men are tired

NP: Icehouse - "Measure for Measure"

Back off, this record was 99 cents in the bargain bin. The sad thing is that I would buy all the other Icehouse LPs if I also came across those in the bin.

The Super Bowl... I was praying that the Pats wouldn't do exactly what they did. I figured the only way they could topple the Rams was to pressure Warner and hope for a bunch of turnovers. And that's exactly what happened. 17 points off interceptions...otherwise the Rams defense did a pretty solid job. Sadly the offense really only got going during those two drives at the end of the fourth quarter. So yeah, last night about 10pm there was kind of a collective deflation in the city. Walking home from Ryan's place there were tons of cars on the road, way more than per usual on a Sunday night. They all just seemed to sort of putter along. There was no honking of horns, no shouting in the streets. It was so somber. I mean, yeah it was just a sports team losing, but like I said yesterday, things were crazy around here the past week. People expected the team to win. Oh well. There's always next year. Let's see if Warner can learn how to not throw passes to the opposing team.

Nothing at all on the agenda for today. Which is nice. I'll probably catch up on some reading, listen to some of the mountain of albums I came back from the UK with. It's a nice day out so later I'm gonna take a walk, too. Oh, and I found out that my cousin's high school quiz bowl team has a match this evening, so I'm gonna go and surprise him and attend. Kind of makes me proud, he's the captain, just like I was back in the day. A tradition of dorkiness.

Oh, yesterday I got my trip pictures back from the developer. Now I need to find a scanner to borrow.

Alright, time to eat some cereal. Do I know how to live or what? Why yes, I do.

then / now