in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

3-14-01 // 11.45 pm

like dylan in the movies

NP: Belle & Sebastian - "If You're Feeling Sinister"

I've just had a brilliant idea. I've been trying to figure out what to get my father for his birthday (which is in a bit more than a week), and I usually can't come up with anything really good. I mean, I always get him something nice and he likes it, but he's so hard to buy for. But something just came to me...I'll get tickets for a Cubs game this summer & we'll drive up to Chi-town and take in nine innings at ol' Wrigley. This way we can have a 'guys on a road trip' kind of deal, spend some (sadly lacking these days) quality time together, and get to see one of the few remaining old-school baseball parks in the process. I must see the ivy for myself before I die...and I have a feeling that one day, sooner rather than later, it's not going to be there anymore. I've actually been to gigs at the Metro which is just down the street from the ballyard, but sadly have never attended a game there. So yeah, that's my plan. I just need to get money again & then ask my mom when my dad's gonna be around so I can pick a weekend. I love it when a plan comes together, don't you?

It's been a Belle & Sebastian kind of day today. I don't know exactly what that means, really, except that I've been listening to lots of their records. Today they're appealing to my lighthearted & whimsical side...they also have the ability to appeal to the bedsit miserablist side of me, but that's not how I've been feeling lately.

Right now, I'm exceedingly happy that my Numerical Analysis midterm is over with. That and the fact that tonight I put the finishing touches on my final Delphi lab of the semester for Software Engineering. Now I just have to run out the clock until spring break starts in a few days.

There's fresh air outside, I can breathe it in through the screen on my window. I just wish it would move on in here and help me out a bit. I hate it when my bedroom gets all stuffy like this.

Oh pretty, dark-haired, glasses-wearing, Anglophile indie-chick, where are you? I've been waiting ever so patiently to come across you in this barren middle American wasteland. So come on...we can talk about the part of the "High Fidelity" movie where Jack Black gets pissed at the one guy for playing 'Seymour Stein' on a Monday morning. We can joke about how Ian Brown really does look like a big monkey. We can drink a beer or two and walk hand in hand. That would be lovely.

then / now