in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

9-23-01 // 1.40 am

in the dog days, people look to sirius

NP: Rush - "Test for Echo"

I just realized that it's been five years since this record came out. Five years! I remember going after school to (sadly now-defunct indie record shop) Now Hear This to buy it, along with R.E.M.'s "New Adventures in Hi-Fi", on the date of release. Later that same evening, I was parked outside the local comic/gaming shop...me and my friends came back out only to find my discman missing from my car, along with my CD wallet & the two albums I'd just bought a few hours earlier. I was irate...turns out the thief got in because one of the back car doors was unlocked. Back in the day, I had a 1981 Chevy Malibu 4-door with manual locks. Every time I drove people places, my words upon exiting the vehicle were "everyone lock your doors!" On this particular evening, Adam had not locked his. I was so irate...I think I refused to give him a ride to school for a couple of weeks. And it wasn't so much because of the fact that he was careless, it was that he didn't apologize or say he was sorry. So yeah...that's my "Test for Echo" story. I'm sure you were competely rivetted.

I most likely will be going out on a blind date soon. Well, I guess technically it's not blind, since apparently I met this girl four years ago. But I don't remember her, really. Either way, kudos to Steve for trying to hook me up with a girl who majors in music & likes Star Trek. More details as they become available.

One of the few things I hate about my ghetto apartment is that ghettofied cars constantly drive up and down the streets that intersect outside my bedroom window. Yeah, I'm really impressed that your car is so loud...I really do love hearing Jay-Z coming from a moving object with two subwoofers in its trunk. So go put a muffler on your exhaust right now before I start camping out on the streetcorner with a rolling pin. I'll smash 'em, so help me I'll smash 'em.

Spent just about all of today doing nothing in particular. Took care of some graduation-related paperwork...went grocery shopping this afternoon...took a long walk in the sun...read some magazines & watched the baseball game...turned on the Christmas lights, drank a big bottle of lager & watched "Back to the Future" on TV...went out in search of a gas additive (prior to drinking the beer, of course!) in hopes that some of my recent engine troubles are merely related to a recent bad tank of gas. Ran into Sara whilst out, talked with her for a while...we're going out for an early dinner tomorrow. Oh, and I finally met her new roommate. Apparently Sara's told her all sorts of things about me.

OK, time for me to get some sleep. For not doing much today, I certainly am tired.

then / now