in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

12-10-03 // 8.02 pm

"nah, a couple of chimps with a builder's square could handle it"

I'm sitting here watching "Ed" while Erin's in the back room talking on the phone to her mom. It's a bitterly cold night out, complete with whipping winds and a light coat of snow on the ground. The Christmas lights are the only ones on, I've just ate a fast food taco dinner, and I have a bottle of beer. It's good to feel snug, and I do.

Ryan H's wedding was wonderful. Extremely busy and a bit stressful, but wonderful nonetheless. It couldn't have gone off better, so chalk that up to the bride & groom's great planning. The rehearsal was a snap (once I found the church) and had a nice rehearsal dinner (Italian) at a nice place a block from the river in the old part of town. I had to pick up my tux the morning of the wedding, and was a bit worried that I'd end up being late for the pre-wedding best man type stuff I had to be around for, but everything turned out fine. After hours of photos, there was a short but nice 30 minute ceremony, followed by even more pictures, and then the reception. It wasn't anything big or fancy, but it was just right. Good food, some drinks, some dancing, etc. Got to see Steve, Jared and even Jon (for the first time in at least a couple of years) which was great. We all (bride & groom included) went down to Ragsdale's post-reception for further drinks and celebration, as well as an old-school cigar-by-the-river. Nice. So yeah, despite arriving home on Sunday pretty well exhausted, it was great seeing Ryan and Holly have such a fun, flawless wedding weekend.

I was out for a walk at lunchtime the other day and a man walking behind me eventually caught up to me and passed me by. Before he did, he said to me "excuse me, why do you walk the way that you do?" I explained that I was born with flat feet and doctors have always said that it wasn't worth surgery to correct it since I get along well regardless. I just walk more on my toes and on the ball of my feet rather than the heel. He said thanks & that he was just curious, and didn't mean to be rude or anything. I told him there was none taken, no bother at all. And it wasn't any bother at all. I mean, for most of my childhood and adolescence, people gave me so much shit and teased me so badly for my weird walk, for my crazy freak feet. I used to be so self-conscious about it, and it really hurt when kids would choose to ridicule me for something I had no control over. But the other day, with the question guy, it didn't hurt, not even a little bit. In fact, I was almost interested in sharing my weirdness with him, if that makes any sense. Somewhere along the line I think I've finally grown into my skin. It's certainly taken enough time...

I'm sure there's more to write about but that's all for tonight. Maybe more tomorrow.

then / now