in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

12-23-03 // 10.52 am

this rather simple epitaph can save your hide

NP: The Shins - "Chutes Too Narrow"

I must've received at least a half dozen orange package slips in the mail over the last week or so. The problem has been that every time I've tried to go to the post office, it's been crammed full of 10 million people all trying to mail off their Christmas packages at the absolute last minute. So I'd just turn right around and head out, not wanting to wait through that zoo. In any case, this morning I decided to be the first one at the zoo, the first in line. Post office doors opened at 8.30am, I got there at 8 o'clock. One guy beat me there, but otherwise, I was in and out in no time. Good thing I got there early, too, as at about 8.25 about 20 people came in and got in line behind me. Whew.

Heh, one of the packages was from my friend Tony (he was one of the people I visited/stayed with on my UK tour in '02) -- guess what it contained? Nothing but a copy of the Gary Jules 'Mad World' single! Heh, way to be psychic, Tony!

Erin's mom, sister, and brother are rolling into town tonight -- she's super excited, and I can't say I blame her. Gotta have the family around over the holidays. But yeah, while the rest of this week is going to be beyond insane, it's nice that everyone's going to get to spend time together.

There are a load of high-priority projects going on here at work right now, though somehow mine hasn't had that bad luck. Which is very good, especially since a lot of those people are ending up having to work over most of the holidays.

The display on my iPod is slowly dying. Every couple of days a new vertical line will just stop working. It hasn't yet gotten to the point of being unreadable, but if left unchecked it probably would in a month or so. In any case, I called the Apple store and since I'm still under the 1 year warranty, they're going to fix/replace the thing for free. Rock on. And I would hope so, really, it's not like the things are cheap.

I finished up most of my pressing work yesterday before I left, so I'm pretty much just waiting out the rest of today before the first of my two five-day weekends begins.

I doubt I'll post again for a few days, so happy holidays (if any) to each and everyone.

then / now