in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

12-28-03 // 8.08 pm

rain and wire, and common sense in pieces

A bone-chilling rain is falling on this Sunday night, and I'm enjoying chilling out at home for the first time in what feels like forever. The Christmas lights are on, the day's chores are out of the way, and I've even managed to get a 1.5 mile walk in.

Erin's family left today after a six day visit, and she's down now that they've gone home. I can't say I blame her, and I wish that I had some better way to comfort her, but sadly, I really don't, considering I have no shared experience with that sort of thing. I think sometimes I take for granted the fact that I can drive 30 minutes at most and see 90% of my family. I'm not sure how I'd cope if I could only see my parents twice a year at best.

But yeah, it was a busy, stressful and fun Christmas holiday. Erin's 15 year old sister Cathy stayed with us the whole time, which was interesting. It was sort of an alternate universe look in at a "what if I had a teenage kid" scenario. But yeah, she was a great houseguest and I hope she comes back again soon. Otherwise, my five days off work were mostly spent visiting my relatives or Erin's relatives, or being in transit between the two. I'm not really complaining, as family is great and time with 'em should be maximized. But I was getting seriously burnt out there by Friday or so.

Oh, Erin and I pooled our Christmas dinero and made a consumer electronics purchase. We are now the proud owners of a 'plantinum' Gamecube. Put frankly, it rocks my socks off. It's been, well, forever since I've had a brand new, current game system, and I love this one. My first purchase was FIFA 2004, and it's gorgeous. I mean, seriously. Dig that detail and actual current team rosters! Plus the in-game music is killer. The Jam, Underworld, Dandy Warhols, Asian Dub Foundation, Radiohead...wow. But yeah, it's all quite excellent, considering that I've been playing FIFA 2000 on my PC for the past four years. Next up has to be the new F-Zero game. Aw yeah.

I just cracked open a bottle from that Michelob gift set thing my dad gave me for Christmas. I know I likely sound like a grade A lush when I say this, but nothing, and I mean nothing is quite like the first drink of the first beer of the night. Even if the first beer is the last beer, which is often is. But yeah.

I had more to say tonight, but it's been a challenge to get my brain to form these semi-coherent paragraphs.

Anyway, ugh...it's back to work tomorrow. Though at least it's only two days, I can handle that. Then it's five more days off, and those days are mine.

then / now