in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

1-1-02 // 1.25 pm

I throw away everything I've written you

NP: Jimmy Eat World - "Bleed American"

Happy 2002, people.

We got to the pub last night, and it was closed. Locked down, not a light on. Not a single car in the parking lot. What the hell? Why would an eating and drinking establishment be closed on one of the biggest eating and drinking nights of the year? We went to a second pub and it too was closed! Huh? So we went and ate at Denny's instead. Which isn't bad at all but I kind of had my heart set on pub food and a pint of Bass or Newcastle. So we ate at Denny's...Steve kept trying to get me to hit on the waitress. Wanted me to invite her to hang out with us later in the evening. What was I going to say "hey, you wanna come hang out with me and some guys? We're gonna be in a basement shooting pool and throwing darts, getting drunk." Steve is all about trying to get his single friends to hit on random people. I guess since he's married he has to live vicariously through people like me. In any case, I didn't hit on the poor girl waiting our table. Not my style. (I have a style?) That and I just don't think you should bother people at work like that in the first place.

Anyway, after eating we went back to Ryan's place. We did, in fact, shoot pool and throw darts. We also drank. A lot. I had the particularly odd combination of Heineken and Colt '45. Somehow this morning I escaped all but the most minor of hangover symptoms...just a bit of a headache. I can deal with that as payment for a night of sucking down booze.

It's nearly mid-afternoon and I'm still in boxer shorts. I need to get a shower, I need to get moving. Not that I have anything planned for the rest of the day, I'm probably going to take a walk in a bit, then watch some football tonight. Illinois is gonna kick some LSU ass. Woo.

then / now