in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

1-3-02 // 11.19 am

is wrestling fixed?

NP: Carter USM - "1992: The Love Album"

Spent most of yesterday afternoon on a money changing adventure. My objective was to purchase American Express traveller's checks in pounds sterling. I first went to the main branch of my local bank, in the square downtown Belleville. I only went there first as the branch I used to go to down at school had a huge ad for AMEX checks in the lobby saying something like "we sell traveller's checks in a wide variety of denominations and national currencies". But to make a long story short, the teller in the square insisted that the checks only come in dollars. Not "we don't have them in any other currency", no to her dollars were the end of the line. So I went home, got online and discovered that I could get what I was after if I went to the AMEX traveller's bureau in St. Louis. So I made the short trip over the river, finally found a place to park (which purely by chance ended up being right in front of the building I needed to go into), and did what I had to do. Whew. Wish I would've remembered to take the metro into the city. Oh well.

At at a newly-opened Mexican restaurant with Ryan last night. The chile relleno was surprisingly spicy. Not that I'm complaining, hot is good as far as I'm concerned. We went to Target afterwards as I still had this gift card that I wanted to cash in for new jeans. Anyway, as we stood there in the menswear area, we ran into Liz. Which was strange, I don't think either of us had seen her for at least a couple of years. She'd lost some weight...and she also surprised us by mentioning that she has a daughter. That was a bit of a shock. Turns out she's raising the kid herself & had to quit school because of that. Kind of sad, I guess. Said she's gonna go back soon though. In any case, I know she'll do just fine as a mom.

Today I have to schedule a drug screening that work's making me take before I start. Not that they suspect me of being a junkie or anything, but pissing into a cup is standard corporate policy. Corporations cramp my style. But they pay me money, so I won't complain too badly.

In a few hours here I have to go to the doctor for a checkup. I've had a bit of a nagging cough so I'm going to get everything looked at before I go on my trip, just to be on the safe side.

Illinois lost badly. Stupid Sugar Bowl. LSU had the home town advantage in a supposedly neutral setting! Bah to that. Tonight is the Rose Bowl. I don't like either Miami or Nebraska. Can both teams lose somehow?

That's all. There is nothing else worth mentioning currently happening.

then / now