in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

1-2-03 // 11.49 am

maybe all I need is a shot in the arm

NP: a mix CD I made as a companion to a mix Erin made for her teenage sister.

This computer just spazzed out, and I lost a rather long entry that I was seconds away from posting. Par for the course today, but I'll get to that later. Let's try this again, shall we?

Woke up this morning to snow. Maybe three or four inches? Anyway, after showering, getting dressed, etc, I then spent about fifteen minutes digging my car out from under all the snow and ice. After accidentally stepping in a pool of ice cold water, I was done. Got in the car and started to drive away. But what did I see as I pulled out? The back license plate on Erin's car was bent. Upon closer inspection, someone had bent the plate -- it was like they'd made a crease about a third of the way over from the rightmost edge. Not only that, they'd cut the bit of the plate with the registration sticker completely off. Must've done it with metal cutting shears or something, as the whole thing was done very neatly. So, seeing as how the car is techinically in my name, I haul my ass down to the local police station, and after waiting twenty five minutes to speak to an officer, I filed a vandalism report. Now, I realize that won't do a damn thing, and that wasn't really my intention. I just wanted to have it on record, to avoid any future complications arising from having a fucked up license plate. Anyway, the police were actually very nice, and they did the legwork with the department of revenue relating to the registration. They told me that all I needed to do next was to go down to the DMV sometime and get new plates. Called the DMV on my drive to work, and they said they see this a lot, and to just bring in the old, mutilated plate and they'd hook us up with new ones, free of charge. Which rocks, considering that the DMV is usuall all about finding new and creative ways to take your money.

So yeah, I finally got to work, like an hour, hour and a half later than I usually get in. Drove through the dirt and snow to get here. I'm tired, I didn't get my usual morning cup of coffee (it went cold in the car while I sat in the police station), my head sort of hurts, I miss Erin, I'm starving, and my neck is sort of stiff. I dunno, shortly before I got to work this morning, I passed a Denny's. And I was this close to going inside, ordering a coffee, some breakfast, and sitting there reading a newspaper. But I didn't. I had to go to work. Blah.

New Year's was pretty cool. Wasn't anything terribly out of the ordinary, but it was good to hang out with people and such. Saw Steve for a while, which was nice. Julie even drove all the way from Mt. Vernon for the occasion. Ryan S never showed up, though. Not even a phone call to say he wouldn't be coming. Not even a phone call the day after. I finally called his house last night, but he wasn't in. So, he's alive somewhere (which is good, as I was kind of worried, to be honest), but otherwise AWOL. I dunno, I believe in innnocence until proven guilty, and I'm sure there's a good reason why he wasn't there. But still...I'm waiting to hear it. Otherwise, that's pretty dodgy to just bail for no reason.

Went to Chris's (local diner-y sort of place) for a late breakfast, and we were seated in an area with a large group of some sort. We finally determined that they were some group of St. Louis area furry enthusiasts. Some of 'em had shirts saying things like "FurCon 2002", and a few even had stuffed animals with 'em. Kind of weird.

So, anyway, here I am. There's nothing for me to do at the office today, which I can't stand as it basically makes the day seem to last twice as long as it should. Ugh.

I realize I'm being whiny today, but dammit, I don't care.

Now I'm off to listen to the Pixies sing about groovy girls and slicing up eyballs, and whatever else it is Frank Black likes to sing about.

then / now