in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

12-31-02 // 10.45 am

there is another world waiting

NP: Crowded House - "Afterglow"

I realize that I go on about things like this every single time I listen, but Neil Finn never fails to completely blow my mind. His command of melody seems freakishly effortless. I dunno, the songs seem immaculately crafted, as if hours of time was spent in the detail of the tunes, like the way a verse flows into the chorus, or the way a key change is done, etc. But at the same time, it also feels like he writes these songs over breakfast, like they pop into his head fully formed.

Continued to feel mostly terrible yesterday. Went to Erin's grandparents' for dinner, but I was exhausted and ended up napping on the couch. Went home and slept a bit there, too, before going out for New Year's supplies. Came back to the apartment, spent an hour and a half or so cleaning the place up, and then went to bed. As of this morning, I am feeling 100% better, despite the fact that I didn't get that much sleep again last night, and I'm still rather tired. But that's OK, my guts feel much more peaceful today.

Right now I'm very hungry. Hungriest I've felt in days and days. What stinks is that it's too late for breakfast, and still too early for lunch. Ten o'clock in the morning is such a stupid, inbetween hour.

I am absolutely bored at work today. Honestly, there's really no reason for me to even be here this week. But I'm out of vacation time until the first of the year, so here I sit. Time is griding to a halt.

There were thunderstorms last night. Thunder and lightning in the middle of winter. Though not quite as strange as the time at college there was simultaneously thunder, lightning, and snow.

People coming over tonight. Probably won't be tons of folks, but regardless, I'm quite looking forward to that.

2002 has been a completely spellbinding year, one of the best ever. The sheer volume of things that have happened this year still completely floors me. I don't have any New Year's resolutions to speak of, only to continue trying to improve on everything I'm always attempting to do better at.

Anyway, have a good night, and see you next year.

then / now