in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

1-5-02 // 10.26 am

these streets quiet as a sleeping army

NP: Paul Simon - "The Rhythm of the Saints"

The house is empty and serene for the time being. My dad is gone for a week, duck hunting I think. My mom and sister went to some spa or something for the day. So at least for a while, I can enjoy the alone time. That's really the thing I miss most about the apartment -- peaceful mornings. At my parents' place, I don't think anyone besides me knows the meaning of "lazy Saturday morning".

I'm drinking coffee and eating toast (wheat with strawberry jam on), and my dog is sitting next to me, begging for scraps. I swear this dog will eat anything...I mean, come on, bits of wheat toast? Through trial and error, I have come across the very short list of things the dog will not eat. This mostly includes things like pickles and mustard. And no, I haven't been forcefeeding crap to the dog, she always wants what I'm eating even though I tell her she won't like it. Unfortunately, for the most part, dogs don't understand English.

It's my goal to see "The Royal Tennenbaums" before I leave on my trip. It just now started showing in my area, I want to see it as I'm not sure if it'll still be on when I return. In any case, I only have a few days, but I'm confident I can work it out. I've been anticipating this flick ever since I heard the news of it being in production.

Right now I am content.

then / now