in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

1-9-03 // 2.59 pm

should've cut the crap there but I was drinking too much

NP: Dark Star - "Twenty Twenty Sound"

I am in an unbelievably good mood today. It's been there since the moment I woke up, now that I think about it. I got a full night's sleep for the first time in ages, which ruled. I had a perfect cup of coffee on my drive in to work, the weather is crisp, cool, and blue skied. There was a two hour training course thing once I got to work, and otherwise, I've been very much kicking ass and being in control in all of my job type activities. My tech lead even told me "nice catch" on catching a little tiny detail that that was slowing down the procedure a whole bunch. But yeah, everything is working today, which is a fantastic feeling.

A few more of my pet peeves. People who spell "your" as "yr", like they're Thurston Moore or something. This happens quite a bit in Pitchfork articles. Another peeve is the word "hubby". I can't stand it, it grates on my nerves. If Erin ever refers to me as her "hubby" once we're married... Well, I dunno what'll happen, but I won't like it.

Something I was pleasantly surprised by: Apple has excellent customer service. Seriously, theirs is like the first useful, friendly customer help department I have ever encountered. This is especially strange, considering the world of computer (and electronics, in general) sales is notoriously cranky. Anyway, what happened was that the power cord for the iBook got all frayed from everyday use, which culminated in the thing smoking and throwing sparks while Erin was using it. Bad news. But she called our local Apple store, and they just told us to bring the thing down there and they'd take care of it. Sure enough, all I had to do was sign a form and they gave us a new one on the spot. Rock on.

Speaking of Apple, I am currently salivating over the following of their products: 17" Powerbook, and the 22" cinema display screen. Oh, and Erin downloaded Safari the other day, which has turned out to be rather cool. I haven't spent enough time messing with it to truly judge if it's worth totally switching over to, but yeah. Ah, Apple. Now if only someone would come out with a good file-sharing program for it. Limewire is most definitely not cutting it, at least not since I'm used to using Kazaa on the PC, which actually has loads of good stuff on its network.

Went over to Erin's grandparents' place last night for her birthday dinner. Had corned beef (with mustard and horseradish, natch), cabbage, and roasted potatoes. Black forest birthday cake and neapolitan ice cream for dessert. Erin got a sushi making book/kit from her grandparents and a big book of mixed drinks from her aunt. Very cool. We then went to the bowling alley down the street from our apartment for her first legal drink. We're going to do more celebrating over the weekend, so the festivities aren't finished quite yet.

I just looked at the clock and realized that I only have like an hour and a half left in this working day. Coooool. Can't wait to get out of here for the day and come home & hang out with Erin. Miss her tons today.

Anyway, I'm out. Later gators.

then / now