in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

1-15-04 // 3.03 pm

off the rails I was, and off the rails I was happy to stay

NP: Morrissey - "Bona Drag"

Yawn. Nowt at all doing today, my work has dried up for the time being. I have a training course next week, so that's something, but for today and tomorrow it looks like I'll be murdering time.

Went out to lunch with my coworkers, had a corned beef sandwich and a pickle spear. One of our summer interns was back for his winter break from school so he joined us, which was cool.

My iPod is on the fritz again. Well, technically this is a different Pod, it's the refurbished one I got when I took my old one in after Christmas when the display was dying. In any case, I think the hard disk is fucked. It's making the telltale "last gasp" scratchy noises, and the Pod itself refuses to boot up. It shows the startup Apple logo screen, but then instead of going to the main menu, it just displays this horrible icon with a folder and an 'exclamation point in a triangle' superimposed. So yeah, hooray for faulty hardware. I tell you, for as much as Apple machines cost, you'd think they'd be better manufactured. I have a piece of crap eMachines 533 mhz machine that hasn't given me an ounce of trouble in the nearly four years I've had it, and here both the iPod and the iBook have been in and out of repairs more times than I can count. Boggles my mind. In any case, I'll probably take it in to the Apple Store here soon, pay my $30 fee and get another refurbished Pod. But I'm not too bothered at the moment, I'm just reverting to my CD Walkman. I have a pile of CDs here in my cube today, it's old school.

Erin started school, and after some administrative hiccups, seems to be on the right track and loving it. I know that between school and working, I'm going to see her less than I already do, and it really kinda sucks. But on the other hand, I'm trying not to be selfish and realize that this is something she really wants to do and it'll be beneficial in the long run. I mean, I support her and the decision, I think it's a good one. I guess it just means that we'll have to really treasure our common time off.

I made a new friend the other day, his name is Aaron. Came across each other on Meetup.com (for the St. Louis Magic one) -- we're both looking for players, so hey. It's nice, 'cause he seems refreshingly normal. The majority of Magic players I encounter are either goofy newbies (nothing wrong with that, everyone's gotta start somewhere, but I'm not 14 anymore) or infuriatingly unfun "win at all costs" tournament players. So yeah, I think that he and Ryan S are going to come by Monday night.

I still have at least two more hours to kill here, I'm not sure how I'm going to do it.

then / now