in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

1-19-04 // 10.59 am

here, where they can't find us

NP: Howie Day - "Stop All The World Now"

Cold, so cold. It was like 15 F out this morning with howling winds -- felt like -5 F or so. I walked down the street at one point, only like a block and a half, and upon returning indoors it felt like my face was frozen solid.

Friday night sucked hardcore, that was my fault. Saturday was better, though. Spent a rainy, nasty afternoon catching up on reading and watching the soccer. Ryan H and Holly came by nearer to evening, and once Erin came home we all went to Fitz's and met up with Julie and a couple of her friends. Had a very good time, the conversation was very lively and boisterous, I think everyone got along pretty well. Just stayed in Saturday night watching SNL as Erin & were both rather tired. Spent part of Sunday at my parents house celebrating birthdays -- Erin's and my sister's. Just chilled out at night, it was far too cold and snowy to want to venture back out.

Back at work today, though I don't really have any specific tasks to accomplish, I'm just sort of 'on call' as my project goes into advanced testing (the testing that's run by the test department, as opposed to the low and mid level testing that the engineers do). So yeah, I'm chilling out with a big cup of coffee. I think there's a going away luncheon in a few hours...those are usually horrid, but at least I'll get some Chinese food out of the deal.

Ryan S called last night with the news that he's super sick, so I pushed the Magic night back till next week sometime. It's OK, though, as Erin and I are going to chill out tonight and order a pizza with egg on it from Imo's.

I think I'm taking a short trip to California to visit family at the end of May. Erin's grandma & aunt asked her to go with them to the Alabama gulf coast for a week then, and I think I'm going to use the time to finally make the visit out west I've been talking about for years now. So yeah, I'm finalizing dates with my relatives now, and I'll probably buy plane tickets in early February. Cool. Oh, and I think Erin and I are going down to Memphis at some point when the weather turns a bit warmer. She's never been, so I'm going to introduce her to Mud Island, Beale Street, great barbecue, and I think we might even go to Graceland. So yes, I'm gonna get my travel on.

OK, now it's time for the luncheon, apparently. I'm outta here.

then / now