in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

1-20-04 // 7.13 pm

"only in the freewheeling atmosphere of america's economy"

NP: "Living In St. Louis" on Channel 9. This week it's on old things saved and restored, including old steam trains the Transport Museum, an old Soulard poilice station turned into a gallery (the Mad Art gallery, incidentally, where Found are doing their exhibition in June that Ryan H and I are going to), & the super-cool, newly renovated Continental Life tower.

Sometimes I think I should go work for a civic organization or city tourism bureau or something. I know I sound enough like a travel ad sometimes....

Whew. I'm very beat at the moment. Got up super early this morning to be on time for day one (of three) of the systems engineering course my work is putting me on. It was a so-so experience, at least so far. There's a fair amount of information that's very useful, though the rest seems more geared towards someone who's on the "fast track" to management. In any case, the course is being taught by this near retirement age guy with really strange speech patterns. The closest I can come to describing it is to say that he sounds like Fred Armisen doing his "Gabe Fisher" character from SNL crossed with Harry Caray and maybe John Madden. So weird. But yeah, we were released at 4.30...the last couple of hours prior were endless.

Drove home and walked up to the bank to do some ATM business. Got back to the apartment and took care of some outstanding chores -- vacuuming the carpets and scrubbing the bathtubs this time around. Done now, though I still vaguely smell like bleach. I think soon I'm going to crack open a beer -- I deserve it today, I think.

Erin is at work till 10 o'clock after going to school this morning. Can't wait to see her, even though I know it's only going to be a few hours at most before I have to go to sleep and she has to stay up finishing coursework.

Doing pretty well on my resolution to lose a bit of weight. I'm doing it smart,not too quickly or anything, though I think that after two or so weeks of drinking less, watching what I eat even more, and making sure to exercise ever single day I've lost a few pounds at least. My clothes are noticeably looser, in any case, so I'm happy. It's enough to keep me motivated, anyway.

The apartment lights just flickered on and off several times, then everything came back on to full power. Weird. I also see that half of the strand of chili pepper lights hanging in the archway have gone out. Just great.

More light flickering...OK, this is getting weird. Maybe it's a sign -- time to stop writing and to get that beer.

then / now