in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

1-27-03 // 8.50 am

that hurricane day will soon pass away

NP: Deacon Blue - "Raintown"

My top five, all-time Glaswegan albums:

# Deacon Blue - "Raintown
# Travis - "The Man Who"
# Blue Nile - "Hats"
# Belle & Sebastian - "Tigermilk"
# Texas - "White On Blonde"

Yeah, I know there's also the Jesus & Mary Chain, Teenage Fanclub, Mogwai, the Delgados, and more, but I don't care. I like mine better.

Except for the Texas one, which is mostly northern soul, notice how those are overwhelmingly downcast, melancholy records? Not sure if it's the weather, or the water, or whatever, but Glasgow seems to excel at producing bands and LPs with that general mood.

Had a pretty good weekend, in general. Stayed in Friday night, went to lunch and to the basketball game with my dad Saturday afternoon. Went out shopping and to dinner with Erin that night. Went for a late breakfast with Erin and her friends Sunday, went for a walk, washed cars, then went to Ryan S's for the pirate Super Bowl. Yarrr, indeed. Tampa, the team I didn't want to win, won of course. Still a good game, for the most part. Ate far too much pizza, as well.

Now I'm back at work. Monday mornings blow. I've got a cup of coffee, but my brains are creaking and straining to get back into the office mindset.

I desperately need a haircut. I'm trying to call the barbershop I usually go to, but nobody's picking up the phone. Oh well, I'll try again later.

Anyway, yeah. Woo. I just want to get through this day.

Oh, and of course, happy Australia Day to those down under.

then / now