in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

1-28-03 // 2.39 pm

"slug and lettuce"

NP: White Buffalo - "King's Head, Fulham, London, 12.20.00"

Apparently since this show, the pub has been renamed the Slug and Lettuce. So weird. But also cool.

Today has been quite busy, complete with three consecutive meetings, and having to work on bits and pieces of two separate projects. But on the plus side, I'm more or less done with most of it at this point. Though that does leave about two hours to kill. I'm currently eating beef jerky, which isn't really making the clock go any faster, but at least it tastes good.

My grandma (mom's side) found a lump in her breast, she's having outpatient surgery a week from today. According to the surgeons, what they've found so far is normally benign about 80% of the time, which is excellent. But regardless, it's still scary and I'm a bit worried.

I got that haircut, finally. Went last night after work. Only had one person ahead of me, at least in theory. But in practice, it was a woman with her, like, five kids, each one squalling and fidgeting while the poor lady tried to trim their hair. And of course, when they all went up to the register to pay, each one of them had to get a helium ballon, which took about a million years. But finally, after reading far too much of "ESPN the Magazine" as one human should ever have to read, I was taken into the hairdresser's chair.

Amazingly enough, I no longer totally suck at Dance Dance Revolution. I still can't get higher than a "C" rating at any given time, but at least I don't look completely like the rhythmless white boy I clearly am.

This afternoon is totally dragging on. Still like an hour and a half to go till I can escape. Stupid work afternoon. I just want to get out of here, come home to Erin, eat some dinner, watch the Simpsons, and chill out.

I can't think of anything else to mention at the moment, so I'm out of here.

then / now