in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

1-27-04 // 9.02 am

rhinectomy

I tried to go to work today, I really did. I got up before the crack of dawn, I showered and got dressed, I dug my car back out from more ice and snow, and I tried to go. Unh-uh. No dice. I don't know if it's the high winds or the fact that there's still a layer of ice on a lot of the roads, or the fact that people don't know how to drive in inclement weather, but it's still a mess out there. The fact that there were several vehicles flipped over or jacknifed on 44 at Vandeventer was the icing on the cake. So here I sit. I'm actually getting a bit of cabin fever. Not much, but I actually wouldn't have minded getting out and going to the office today. Weird, I know. But anyway, maybe I'll slip and slide my way down the block for a coffee later. Or perhaps not, maybe I'll just stay here in my little non-frozen zone, play FIFA, watch DVDs and eat soup. Plus, I have the treadmill to get my needed physical activity in.

The comic Mac Hall was and still sometimes can be really excellent and funny. Though the retooling of the way the artist draws it just throws me off. The characters no longer have noses. They used to have noses. But now, no noses. Hrm. I mean, I freely admit that I have in me not even a solitary shred of interest in manga, and that I'm sure this new style appeals to a lot of people. But it just baffles me. Where are the noses? Why do all of the characters now lack fingers and have those gigantic "doe-eyed" eyeballs?

Spam curry did not turn out so well last night. We have to declare Erin the winner of this particular spam battle. In my defense, I have to say that had I been able to work with fresh ingredients, or at least a passable curry paste, it may have been much better. But as it was, we went shopping on Saturday night, right before the ice & snow hit, and since our local megasupermarket recently decided to stop carrying Indian foods and supplies, I had to use this dodgy Japanese curry mix thing. It fit in well with the battle theme, but once used in cooking -- ewwww. I mean, it wasn't even a powder, the curry mix came solid in an almost candy bar looking block!

I now have a cup of tea. It is warm and in my favorite mug (the one I got in Rhode Island featuring step-by-step instructions on how to eat a lobster), and I am happy.

Mmm, I wouldn't mind crawling back into bed with Erin till she has to get up for school in an hour. Though I'd probably just wake her up with my thrashing about, plus it looks like both cats have set up shop by her feet, so I don't want to disturb all that.

OK, enough of this. I have Dylan remasters to listen to.

then / now