in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

1-30-04 // 11.17 am

approaching pavonis mons by balloon

NP: Flaming Lips - "Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots"

Coworkers are being particularly obnoxious today. I'm fighting back with headphones and coffee.

I've had an amazingly large amount of stuff to do the past few days. Wednesday our customer told us that in six days their entire shop was switching over to IE 6.0 and would that by any chance render our system inacessible/unusable? Oh, and they had to have an answer by Friday lunchtime. Woo hoo! Anyway, myself and a crack team shifted into high gear and got the job done. Regardless, it's been a bit stressful but also nice to be busy at my job again.

Dylan is doing a three night residence at the Pageant in March, so I think Ryan H and myself are going to go. I'm gonna try to snag tickets for the second show when they go on sale this evening. Love the Dylan in concert, last time was in Cape on my 21st birthday (of all things) and I've been waiting for another chance.

I took my Dad to a Blues game last night, which was pretty much fun. It was a game typical of the way they've been playing lately, giving up four goals in the third period and generally looking really confused and falling down a lot. Regardless, it was nice to do something with my Dad, I know I don't do so enough.

My new pal Aaron and his friend Jeff came over the other night, all of us and Ryan S had some good chaos games & trading. Ordered pizza and had a few beers, talked about movies and music and whatnot. Turns out that they're both really cool guys, we're all very in tune with likes/dislikes/personalities, etc. Which I'm sure sounds sort of ridiculous to go on about, but when trying to establish a playgroup, you've gotta only let in non-idiots. But yeah, both Aaron and Jeff are very cool guys, I'm sure we'll hang out in a non-Magic setting as well.

The iBook's logic board went out again last night. Erin was trying to finish up a report for school and the screen did the telltale freeze-up/weird horizontal lines thing. Of course, now it pretty much won't boot up at all. This is the third or fourth time it's happened in about 15 months and I'm getting so so so sick of it all. Yeah, it's covered under warranty and Apple Care and all of that, but it's the principle of the thing. We didn't shell out the money for an Apple only for it to constantly break down. Oh well, I need to take my faulty iPod in anyway, may as well make it a hardware repair party.

Can't wait to spend some chill-out time with Erin this weekend. I know we've both been busy (especially her trying to get all of her interview and paper stuff done for school), but I could definitely use some together time, you know?

Somehow the entire month of January is nearly over. It's like a time warp, it honestly feels like it was just New Year's. Although with how badly lately I've been wanting it to be spring, I suppose it's alright.

then / now