in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

2-1-04 // 10.38 am

honk!

Got the Dylan tickets -- Ryan H and I will be going to the March 2nd show. If I had unlimited time and funds, I'd go to all three nights since Dylan wildly varies his setlists night to night, but the one gig will do nicely.

Met up with Aaron and played in the sealed deck tourney yesterday afternoon. Had a first round bye for some reason, and then got my ass handed to me in rounds two and three. But that's how it goes -- I'm not really a tournament player, and plus in sealed deck there's always an element of "you can only make the best deck out of the cards you open that day". So yeah. Fun time, though, even if the venue's heating system didn't work for the first hour and change.

Yesterday evening Erin and I went out for Mongolian BBQ (I bow down to the greatness of the big round wok-stone thing), and then did a bit of shopping before just chilling out at home for the rest of the night. Too damn cold out to do much at night anyway. In any case, it was fun. I like having a "date night" once or twice a week.

Oh, we got our iBook replaced. Considering this was like the 4th or 5th time we'd had to take the old one in for logic board failures, this time they just gave us a brand new G4 model. That rules. And plus, for some reason, once I got my iPod to the Apple Store, it started to work again. It's continued to work just fine ever since. Hrm. I speculate that perhaps it needed a trip to the mother ship.

Erin and I are going to IHOP with Andy & Liz if they ever call us. Otherwise, just going over to Ryan S's this evening for the Super Bowl.

All morning I've been hearing this vague, sort of quiet honking noise and couldn't figure out what the hell it was. I just looked out the front room window to see about 75 Canadian geese flapping their wings out on the grassy embankment beyond the courtyard. The cat is sitting there staring at them, as if he could or would jump up to lunge and bite.

Brrr. I need socks. And a hot shower. And an omelette.

then / now