in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

2-1-03 // 11.45 am

we are boxing clever

NP: Prefab Sprout - "Two Wheels Good"

I think this was originally called "Steve McQueen", but they had to change it for the US release, for whatever reason. Either way, really, it's still good.

Woke up this morning to the AP headlines screaming "shuttle Columbia disintegrates over Texas". Disintegrates. I turned on CNN and saw amateur video footage of a streaking object suddenly coming unglued, eventually breaking apart into numerous flaming, streaking objects. So far, they've ruled out foul play (terrorism, etc), and preliminarily attributing it to a failure of the heat shielding. Either way, it's completely and totally heartrbreaking. I remember being six years old in 1986, sitting on the living room floor, playing or something as my mom watched daytime TV. I remember them breaking away from the game show or whatever to say that the Challenger had exploded on takeoff. Granted I was only a child, but it hurt, and I cried at the loss. Now, as a nearly 23 year old adult, I didn't cry. I just sat here in bewilderment, with a sinking feeling in my heart, wondering how after what happened 17 years ago, how it could happen again.

Things are going well so far being on my own for the weekend. Last night I drove around the city for a while, went to the store and got a few nice bottles of beer, came home to drink them, then watched TV, ate guacamole and tortilla chips (the ones with the lime dusting, natch), read a bit, and eventually sat in the dark, in my all time favorite chair, listening to music on headphones.

This morning, aside from being glued to the TV, watching the shuttle news (which I have since turned off, I can't take any more), I'm drinking very nice, very dark coffee, reading good books, messing around online, and listening to records. I rifled through my crates of LPs and grabbed a good dozed I haven't listened to for ages. So yes. It's good to have the turntable in action again, I haven't spun it for months. Mostly because we had to unplug it to make room for the lights for the Christmas tree!

I have determined that it is the cats' job to make sure I can never have a set of blinds completely closed ever again. I closed the ones above the bed last night, and Meowie sat there for ages yowling and such until I opened it up. I tried opening up other blinds, such as the ones in the window in the study, but he wanted the bedroom window. And just now, Corona was sitting there staring at the blinds on the big window here in the living room. Then she nudged it repeatedly, and then kept trying to jump up on the ledge. So I had to get up and pull them up, just for the cat.

Ryan H is coming by around 4.30 or 5 o'clock this afternoon. I think we're going to get Chinese food. Holly (his fiancee) doesn't like it at all, so as a result he hasn't had any for like nine months. We may go bowling, too, not sure yet. Before he comes by, I'll probably go for a long walk, it's a nice day out for a change. Talked to Ryan S this morning, too. He has the flu so we won't be able to hang out this weekend, but I'm sure we'll meet up after work one day next week.

Anyway, it's back to the books for me. I'm outta here.

then / now