in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

2-2-03 // 12.22 am

you bought some round wire frames at a junk shop

NP: a few MP3s.

Right now it's Ben Folds, Silver Street. A very excellent tune. I'm pretty sure anyone who's ever been to college knows someone like the guy in this song. It's kind of funny thinking about people you used to know, people who ended up anchored to the college town, that place that is, by its nature, transitory.

Why is it that "Weekend Update" on Saturady Night Live always feels like the apex of the weekend? And on the same note, why does the final sketch of the night (more or less right at midnight here in the central time zone) effectively feel like the end of the weekend proper? For as long as I have been alive, Sunday has never felt like anything more than a half weekend day. The specter of the impending Monday hangs too low for total enjoyment of the day off.

Had a great time with Ryan H this evening. Ate great Chinese food at the place down the road, drove around for a while showing off the neighborhood, then had a few drinks in the Central West End, aka the pretentious part of town. But the thing is, the best pub in the city is there, complete with honest-to-Zarquon hand-pulled ales. But regardless of all that, we had a great time, talking politics, apartments and neighbors, relationships, people we used to know from college, etc. Was a bit funny talking about starting to feel like we're getting old, despite the fact that we're still not even quite at 25. It was very good. A shame that we usually only meet up every few months, but on the other hand, I think the delay makes it that much better when we do, you know?

Currently eating more tortilla chips and guacamole, and drinking German altbier, which I'm pretty sure is analogous to English brown ale. Either way, it's good stuff, especially after a pint of Guinness extra stout (the non-draught, non-friendly version of the Black Lemonade). And now I'm rambling on about beer and snack foods. Man am I lame or what?

Went on a great walk this afternoon, partially going over my usual route, and partiall taking a new route, doing a bit of exploring in the neighborhood. I actually discovered (not in the Columbian sense, but personally) a neighborhood grocery store & deli fairly close to the apartment. Which rules.

Perhaps I'm just pretentious, or lame, or whatever, but I like walking. And I firmly believe in a walkable neighborhood, or city center, or whatever. Car culture is fine and well -- I am American after all. But a the same time, if like being able to walk to the post office, or the grocery store, or the video store. I don't treat walking like a disease. Most of this country does, which I don't like. But whatever, it's their call.

Time for maybe one or two more beers, and then I'm sure it'll be time for me to hit the sack. This has been a great weekend, very, very relaxing. But at the same time, I'll be quite happy tomorrow night when I pick Erin up from the airport.

Good night.

then / now