in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

2-3-04 // 9.57 pm

dressed as black as a crow in a coal mine

NP: Randy Newman - "Land Of Dreams"

Snow, snow, snow. Feels like this winter will never end. I'm tired of freezing my fingers off scraping ice away from my car in the morning. I'm sick of it constantly seeming as if it's dark outside. I can't wait to be rid of slush, dampness, and always feeling a little bit cold. But sadly, I must strengthen my resolve. There's a big storm coming through tomorrow, and I'm sure at least another month and a half of this sort of thing on tap.

"A hip way to smoke tobacco is catching on in St. Louis". So says the Channel 2 news blurb just now. Apparently hipsters have discovered hookahs, and this is somehow news. Yesterday there was a story about blogs. "On the eleven o'clock news tonight, a certain kind of soft drink has been found to be lethal. We won't tell you which one until after sports and the weather with Funny Sonny Storm."

People are having a collective cow over Janet Jackson's breast but they don't care about the endless barrage of impotency drug ads and beer ads featuring women in swimsuits or whatever. I don't care about any of it -- I think that people howling about this need to reevaluate their priorities and lighten the fuck up. But whatever. The whole thing just reeks of crassness and cynicism and manipulation. It's a publicity stunt, cross-media promotion or whatever else. I refuse to take part in it, to join this culture of hype.

I walked up to my sleepy neighborhood's civic center this evening to vote. There wasn't much on the ballot, just the presidential primary and a few local things like a sewer improvement bond issue and a sales tax increase to fund fire departments. Several times SUVs and pickup trucks nearly ran me over. I suppose it's my fault for having the audacity to be a pedestrian. The horror.

I need to eat a curry very soon. A nice, firey vindaloo, with nan, raita, and a big cold beer. Mmmm.

Not much doing tonight, it's Erin's late shift at work, I miss her. I'm just sitting around trying to stay warm. I did a bit of picking up around the apartment earlier, plus I did a bunch of loads of laundry. Looking forward to hanging out with Erin a bit, eating a late dinner and then hitting the sack. I've been really fatigued today for some reason.

We got our award fee at work the other day, it was just about as good as it's possible to do. That means a bonus for me at some point in the near future. It's tempting to blow it all on music and books, but I'm probably going to put it all away for California in May.

I could watch that old clip of Bobby Knight throwing a plastic chair onto the court at Indiana University about a million times and never get tired of it.

That's all for now.

then / now