in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

2-17-03 // 1.43 pm

a warm place

NP: Nine Inch Nails - "The Downward Spiral"

Trent Reznor is very good at walking the fine line between genuine menace and silly self-parody. On a side note, did anyone else in the world besides myself actually like "The Fragile"?

I'm not entirely sure how it's 1 o'clock already. That's a good thing, though, as it means it'll be time to go home before I know it.

Things are still mad at work, though relatively less so than at the end of last week. I did a lot of coding this morning -- kind of repetitive, boring types of changes, but at the same time, not terribly stressful.

Oh, the dim sum lunch on Saturday was excellent. The shrimp and pork dumplings were great, as was the eggplant (love that eggplant), and other assorted foodstuffs. Afterwards, we did some shopping in the "Little China" bit of Olive in U. City. Bought weird food items in a grocery (kimchi flavored ramen? brilliant!), Erin got a little bamboo plant, and generall just enjoyed being out for a bit. Then, of course, the weather turned nasty. Cold rain morphed into a miniature ice storm, which then became sleet, and then snow. Probably got five inches or so. Made the roads a complete mess yesterday. Thankfully it was a bit more clear this morning, as I would not have liked to make my long commute on treacherous interstates.

While I actually enjoy snow and winter quite a bit, I'm also more than tired of it all at this point. I'm not yet ready for the suffocating heat and humidity of the middle of summer, but I'm all set for spring. Spring is an excellent season because the days are often warm and enjoyable, but the evenings are cool and clean. Plus, the arrival of spring means rain for weeks at a time, as well as thunderstorms. Thunderstorms rule. Seriously, I will very contentedly just sit there on a stormy evening, watching clouds roll in, lightning streak across the sky, wind whip trees around, sheets of rain pour down. It's very soothing and awe-inspiring.

Today is Presidents' Day, which means that government offices are all closed, but I am at work. So while I'm stuck here, I can't even go to the bank or the post office, should I be so inclined. I suppose I could be off today, too, as my work gives me five "optional holidays" per year, corresponding with five holidays the site isn't closed. But I usually save those and use them for random vacation instead.

Speaking of vacation, I think this June Erin and I are going to fly to Philadelphia. We'll eat in Masahuru Morimoto's (the ex-Iron Chef Japanese) restaurant, explore the city, and generally just chill out. It sounds brilliant. Trips with Erin are the best.

And now my short break is over, and work is calling me back. Stupid work.

then / now