in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

2-21-03 // 11.12 am

salmon of doubt

Sitting here reading a book with junk TV on in the background.

The book is Douglas Adams' "The Salmon of Doubt", which I think I've mentioned before. I was originally hesitant to pick it up, as it's sort of a "b-sides" book, full of random essays, notes found on Adams' computer, and a half-dozen chapters of an unfinished novel, possibly meant to be a new Dirk Gently book. In any case, at first I didn't want any part of it. Didn't like the idea of "unfinished" material being out there like that, not quite liking the idea that they'd gone in and raided Adams' hard drive and released the contents as a book. But I came across the book in the library the other day, and grabbed it. I'm reading it now, and it's joyous. The essays and interviews illustrate Adams' lust for life, provide insights into his passions (whisky, zoology/biology, techonology, travel), and give us more doses of his razor wit. Haven't got to the unfinished novel bit, but I'm sure it's excellent. Didn't mean to go on and on like this, but I still sorely miss Adams. He's my favorite author -- he wrote brilliant, insightful, sharply funny things about diverse types of things and it was always good. Plus, he had the sort of interests that you would want someone you're reading words by to be interested in, you know?

Life is full of small yet supreme pleasures. I'm enjoying a few of them this very morning. A pot of dark, bitter coffee, a slightly gray morning, having a Friday off work & realizing that everyone else is in at the office. I'll probably go for a walk in a bit, too, maybe listen to some LPs after that.

You know what's a good cartoon? "Doug". Though I'm talking the original Nickelodeon "Doug", not the new Disney version with slightly different character voices, etc.

The sun's beginning to peek out a bit. Which I think is a sign to get moving. It's supposed to be a nastly weekend out, so I should enjoy outdoors while I can.

Three day weekend. Rock.

then / now