in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

3-2-02 // 10.53 am

I will bask in my disaster, baby

NP: Matt Good Band - "The Audio of Being"

It's supposed to sleet and snow and generally be nasty later on this afternoon, so I've already decided just to camp out in my room for the rest of the day, just drink coffee, do a bit of reading, catch up on some TV that I taped during the week. I think it's a good plan. Though of course, you know how plans and I get along...

So yeah, last night I went out with Erin. I was a bit surprised when she showed up at the designated meeting place with another guy. Perhaps I'm just out of practice, but that didn't seem like quite the right protocol. But hey, I'm a roll with the punches kind of guy, so... It turns out the guy was her best friend John, who was cool and everything. Though it was a bit strange too, kind of like dating a girl with a translator or a princess and her bodyguard. But in any case, Erin was fantastic. I loved her voice and her eyes and her sweetness and her humor. I love that she chose a raunchy Woody Allen movie to watch later in the evening. Oh, and I even survived an unexpected drop-in from an insane man who I think threatened to kill me and/or follow me home and kill me there. But anyway, we eventually said our goodbyes...she said this was a "dry run" for our first real date. I want there to be a real first date. This girl is great...so let's try it again without the insanity this time.

I think my car is dying. I mean for real this time. I know it's been off-and-on sick for the past year or so, but I think this is the end. Which I guess is a good reason to get off my ass and start scouring the want ads for a newer vehicle. Ugh... The searching and the negotiating is something I don't care if I ever have to do again. I'd love it if a new car just materialized in my driveway, complete with payment instructions. But oh well...I'll figure things out.

All for now. Later gators.

then / now